Regency Flats Marine Parade

Photo:The Regency Flats

The Regency Flats

Norfolk Museum Service-Percy Trett archive

By Rutheva Woodcock


The history of the Regency Flats on Marine Parade is fascinating. Originally they were known as Sutherland House. It was built by David Falckes, a Yarmouth man who was born at the end of the First World War.  He lived in the house with his wife Emily and his six children (his son Jacob died when he was two years old).  The family had wealthy connections and the house was blessed by the chief Rabbi of England at the time.


Later the House became known as Melton Lodge, The Orthopaedic Hospital School for children.  The School opened in 1929 by Princess Mary and blessed by Aubrey Aitken, the vicar of Yarmouth, who was later to become the Bishop of Lynn.  By 1960 the numbers of children attending had declined and the school finally closed its doors Christmas 1960.


During 1970’s it was renamed as Regency Flats and turned into holiday accommodation.  

This page was added by Rutheva Woodcock on 20/11/2015.

If you're already a registered user of this site, please login using the form on the left-hand side of this page.