Royal Assembly Rooms

Photo:Photo of the Royal Assembly Rooms, Marine Parade

Photo of the Royal Assembly Rooms, Marine Parade

Norfolk Museums Service -Percy Trett Archive

Photo: Illustrative image for the 'Royal Assembly Rooms' page

The Norfolk Museums Service - Percy Trett Archive

By Rutheva Woodcock

The Assembly rooms have had a charming history.  It was built in 1863 for the people of Great Yarmouth by the Great Yarmouth Assembly and Reading Rooms Company.  

It passed through several owners, before it was brought on behalf of the Prince of Wales Norfolk Artillery. In 1910 the Assembly Rooms were sold to J.W.Nightingale, whose son sold the assembly rooms to the Masons in 1919.

A major extension was added in 1972 and more recently the building has been extensively restored and decorated.  

The Photograph of the Royal Assembly Rooms (Masonic Club) on Marine Parade. 

This page was added by Rutheva Woodcock on 11/09/2015.

If you're already a registered user of this site, please login using the form on the left-hand side of this page.